Hagan Halloween Town Part 1.


Over the next few weeks I’m going to be walking you through some easy and cheap things you can do to spruce up your House for Halloween.  The first thing we are working on is a graveyard for our front yard. We got the wood from my brother in law Travis, who works at Lowes and had just happened to come across some free planks of plywood.

Side note, Travis is about to go for his reversal surgery for his colostomy bag, and we could not be happier for Travis and Valery. It has been so hard on both of them and I prey every night for them that things start to turn around. The reversal is definitely a step in the right direction.

So, Trent, his identical twin Travis, and their father Mike used a regular old jigsaw and used a 4’x8 inch sheet of plywood and they got 10 tombstones out of it. I don’t know the first thing about tools of that nature, so if you have to just find someone more educated with tools to do so that has a jigsaw lying around.

image

Okay, so we got ten tombstones from it.

image

Next, we took the tombstones to our house and got the kids involved. I used a can of white paint and dumped it into a bucket. I then poured just enough black in there to where I could get a grey mix. Remember not to use too much black because then the writing will be hard to show up later when you go to write.

So I mixed the paint and had everyone pick up a paint brush. I had everyone make long stroke going up and down and it really did come out perfect.

image

image

image

image

Okay so it was about 6:00 pm by the time we got them painted. We let them dry and while they were drying we had everyone sit in a circle and brainstorm what we wanted on the tombstones.  The names,  the epitaph’s etc. One of the tombstone’s does have our wedding anniversary and names on it because it is part of my anniversary gift. I know it doesn’t go with the theme but its my graveyard and I’ll put what I want    😛

So, we were going to paint each of the names on there but I got to thinking, and not only would that have taken FOREVER, but there’s a HUGE chance that we would’ve had to keep scraping the tombstones and repainting them. So, why not a black Sharpie?  It actually worked was better! And I saved my black paint for my next project!

So, we go to set down and Trent can’t do the writing because he is left handed and he was afraid he would mess it up. And I can’t do it because my hand shakes so bad I would’ve messed it up. So, Dana and Jenn came to the rescue! 

image

A few of our tombstones were personal. The first one I’m going to show you is about our friend Mandy Schroeder.  Well, Mandy has a real quick whit to her and she always knows what to say to put you in your place if you’re being a bottom feeder. Well, Trent thinks of her as a big sister, and he always likes to mess with her and call her the Devil. So, of course Trent had a field day with this one. 

image

It says, “Here Lies Mandy Schroader. Went to hell so Satan could take a vacation.”

image

“Michael Jackson Hasn’t been this stiff since Macaulay Culkin spent the night at Neverland Ranch.”

image

“Coming soon…Lindsay Lohan. ”

image

“Here lies an atheist.  All dressed up and no where to go.” (I found this on the internet and thought it was cute,).

image

“Amy Winehouse and Whitney Houston – Heavens gonna need more crack.”

image

“Charlie Sheen Overdosed on Tiger’s Blood. Winning.”

image

LOL sorry I just realized you can’t really tell what this picture says. I wanted to be a little political on one of them. “Here Lies Mitt Romney’s Campaign. ”

I hope you aren’t offended by any of my dead celebrities.  The truth is I was really heart broken when Amy Winehouse died and that really is my way of paying homage to her, and Whitney, and, Michael.

That’s all we have done for now but the next step is to buy some wooden stakes from Lowes for about twenty bucks to place them in the ground.  I also plan on borrowing a fog machine from my brother and putting spot lights on the graves at night. I have much more to show you so keep tuning in!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

