Tonight I Met A Frog


image

He said his name was Gary. My
niece Aisha brought him inside after the storm. She had so much pride in her eyes when she showed him to me.

He asked me how I was doing. I said, “I’ve seen better days Gary.” We talked about my day and the frog asked why I’m putting off going to the doctor.

To which I respond, “I’m scared Gary. I’ll have to admit there is something wrong with me. I always thought I would someday be normal, but if I’m sick then I will almost certainly never be normal.”

Gary sat quietly and then said, “You’re not supposed to be normal.”

I smiled and told Aisha to take Gary back to the tree in which she found him.

Tagged , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Tonight I Met A Frog

  1. […] Tonight I Met A Frog (upcloseanduncomfortable.wordpress.com) Share this:EmailShare on Tumblr Pin ItLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

    Like

  2. Nikki says:

    Have you tried Health Kentucky to get health insurance? http://www.healthkentucky.org/

    What about applying for SSDI and Medicaid? With Parkinson’s, I’m sure you would qualify. I hope you get the help you need, Mae. You are a wonderful person! I’m going to stay anonymous but I will say that you met me through a mutual friend and you made a lasting impression.

    Like

    • upcloseanduncomfortable says:

      I’m going to try that link you gave me. Thanks. Why are you staying anonymous? Do you know Dana?

      Like

  3. moxyjen says:

    Oh, I’m all weepy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

